Skip to content

Cooking Light’s Fresh Food Fast: Shrimp with Creamy Orange-Chipotle Sauce p. 247

August 13, 2009

fresh food fastThis is one of my Project Cookbook recipes. First time made and definitely needs to be made again!

Fast and fantastic! That’s what this recipe is. I could only have been happier had I bought bigger shrimp, more of them, and doubled the recipe! I used rice instead of the suggested linguine because I love rice and I had just picked up Chinese food for the kids and their friends.

 

shrimp creamy orange chipotle

  1. 2/3 cup half and half
  2. 1 large chipotle chile, canned in adobo sauce (I used 3 smaller one but could have got by with less)
  3. 1 tsp. grated orange rind
  4. Cooking spray (I used olive oil instead)
  5. 1 1/2 lbs. peeled and deveined large shrimp
  6. 3/4 tsp. ground cumin
  7. 1/4 tsp. salt
  8. 2 Tbsp. chopped fresh cilantro
  9. Hot cooked linguine (optional)

Blend first 3 ingredients together. Reciped suggested a blender but I used my food processor.

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Coat with cooking spray (I coated with olive oil); add shrimp. Coat shrimp with cooking spray; sprinkle with cumin and salt (I coated the shrimp with oil and mixed in the cumin in salt in a mixing bowl before putting it into the skillet). Saute 4 minutes or until shrimp are done, stirring frequently (I turned the shrimp mid-way through and that was all they needed). Transfer shrimp to serving platter. Pour sauce into the skillet and cook 1 minute, stirring frequently. Pour over shrimp, sprinkle with cilantro. Serve over linguine, if desired (I desire rice!)

4 servings.

This cookbook looks like it has some great recipes in it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 14, 2009 5:19 am

    OMG YES PLEASE! I will have to make that.

Leave a Reply

