Skip to content

the Big Book of Easy Suppers: Hamburger Noodle Soup p. 14

August 21, 2009

easy suppersBefore dropping my vehicle off for new tires, I had a little time to browse a gift shop near the auto repair shop and found a new cookbook. After getting my new tires I headed home and decided I was too tired to cook. Figured I’d throw in a frozen pizza. But then I started to browse through my new cookbook. Imagine my surprise when I got as far as the third recipe and realized I had all the ingredients for the Hamburger Noodle Soup. Heck, it had been raining all day long. It was the perfect day for soup! This recipe was easy and fast and tasty!

  1. 1 lb. ground beef or turkey
  2. 1 cup chopped yellow onion
  3. 1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper (didn’t have, didn’t miss it)
  4. 1 garlic clove, minced (totally missed this ingredient, didn’t miss it)
  5. vegetable oil, as needed
  6. 1 14 1/2 oz. can whole tomatoes, with juices, cut up (I used diced tomatoes)
  7. 2 14 1/2 oz. cans beef broth
  8. 1 8 oz. can tomato sauce
  9. 2 cups tomato juice (just had an 11 oz. can)
  10. 1/2 tsp. dried basil
  11. 1 bay leaf
  12. 1 1/4 tsp. salt
  13. freshly ground pepper to taste
  14. 1/4 cup chopped fresh parley (didn’t have, didn’t miss)
  15. 1 1/2 cups egg noodles, slightly broken

In large soup pot, over medium heat, combine beef, onion, bell pepper, and garlic. Saute. Breaking up meat until it’s browned and vegetables are tender, adding oil if needed.

Add remaining ingredients, except noodles and simmer, uncovered for 10 minutes.

Discard bay leaf. Increase heat to medium-high and add noodles. Cook until noodles are tender and flavors are blended, about 10 minutes longer.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

